Name Everything

I’d like to use my blog as a letter to the world even though you and a handful of others are the only ones who read it. You matter to me. I don’t want to use my blog to speak passive-aggressively to my readers. I’d like to use it to tell you how I relate to the world and find joy more often.

I enjoy naming things, lately mostly plants. I feel like we can really communicate with each other when I can call them by name. They become personified and lively with very definite personalities. I have an ordinary kitchen bowl in my bathroom that’s teal and new. I’ve named him Filbert and we get along quite nicely together. I’m never alone in my bathroom. He’s always hangin’ out, maintaining order with the laundry. He doesn’t like that I haven’t done the laundry for a while.

I have plants: Adelbert, Adelernie, and Ethan. Adelbert and Adelernie are German. Adelbert is a dominant male. He keeps growing so tall but not out and I still don’t know what he is. He watches out the front window and dances when the furnace is on. Adelernie is female. She’s fuzzy and grows in all directions. She watches me paint and also enjoys watching families walk down from Quirk and Hyde Watson for Sunday breakfast. Ethan is a baby Wandering Jew. He lives in a coffee cup for now but will probably live in the top of a blank cd case tomorrow.

I’d like to name my couch. She’s green and velvety with red dye splattered on one of her cushions. Maybe I’ll call her Cuba.

Some other sweet names for things:

Josie
Dick
Sylvester
Meryl
Woody
Adelaide
Adelyn
Kentucky
Catori
Omari
Taj
Ryker
Willem

Leave a Reply

