Tunafish Pasta Nite!

Keenan and I have been baking a lot lately.  Today we made banana/fig bread and pizza dough.  I feel like an alchemist making something out of nothing but leftovers and flour.  Keenan and I eat like kings spending less than 10$ a day on food between the 2 of us.  Knowing how to cook is crucial in an expensive city like San Francisco.  Today I bought dried black mission figs, wild rice, beluga black lentils (Lentil Stew Recipe) 2 boxes of black tea and 3 cans of coconut water for 20$.

Last night Keenan had to work late so I made a simple dinner for myself, tunafish pasta.  To make this dish I saute 1/2 an onion and 2 cloves of garlic in 2 tablespoons of extra-virgin olive oil for about 4 minutes.  I then add 2 cans of tuna in oil to the pan seasoning with salt, pepper, cayenne and bay leaf as I go.  I chop one can of whole tomatoes in sauce and add it to the pan. I add more salt, pepper and cayenne to taste as well as a good dose of honey to cut the acid of the tomato.   I simmer everything for about 30 minutes and combine with 1/2 a box of cooked angel-hair pasta, making sure to leave a little of the pasta water to help the sauce stick to the noodles.  Very tasty!

Shopping List
  • 2 cans tuna in oil
  • 1 can whole tomatoes in sauce
  • pasta
  • onion
  • garlic
  • cayenne
  • pepper
  • salt
  • bay leaf
One thought on “Tunafish Pasta Nite!

Leave a Reply

